Don’t Quote Me, But I’m Quite Excited

It’s more than 14 years since I took my first tentative steps into a world which has claimed a fair proportion of my life since then. In February 2009, when Mum was diagnosed, I knew very little about Alzheimer’s Disease or dementia. In fact,I certainly couldn’t have told you that Alzheimer’s was one of many different types of dementia.

What followed was a crash course in the cruellest of conditions, a lot of tears, some very sad times, but also some of the most rewarding experiences of my life. Today, July 17th 2023, is probably the most exciting day in all that time. Today, at an international conference in Amsterdam, we’ll find out the latest trial results of a drug called donanemab which earlier trials have suggested might slow down the progression of Alzheimer’s by as much as 36%. Cure? No. But if those initial trial results stand up to further scrutiny, then a person diagnosed at an early stage of Alzheimer’s will be able to live better, longer before the disease takes hold. The key words there are diagnosis and early because donanemab, like lecanemab another drug which promises much, is only effective if a patient is diagnosed at the start.

There’s the little matter of government approval and affordability to deal with too, but for the first time,I’m genuinely excited that the game might be changing.

Mum, today is for you. It couldn’t change your life – it might not change mine – but it might just make all the difference for some.

About duncancajones

I am a coach and mentor, a charity trustee and a journalist. Thanks for taking the time to visit my blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment