March 2024

I was very pleased to represent Alzheimer’s Society on the first day of the BAPCO annual conference. Who are BAPCO you might ask? I certainly did when I was first asked if I could attend. The answer is BAPCO stands for the British Association of Public Safety Communications Officials. In other words, the conference was all about the technology used by the emergency services. BAPCO have kindly adopted Alzheimer’s Society as their charity of the year – hence the invitation to attend the conference.

So, amid discussions about Fully Immersive Virtual Reality Learning Solutions for Training in Emergency and Hazardous Situations and Learning from a Cyber Attack, there were unplanned and unscripted conversations about caring and coping in a very personal emergency – dementia. I found myself talking about Mum, as I often do in these situations. Everyone’s dementia story is different but there are so many similar threads. We have so much in common but often feel so alone.

So, Mum has been on my mind a lot this week and I can’t let International Women’s Day pass – with Mothering Sunday on the horizon – to reflect how much I owe her. Owe her today, as much as ever.

There are so many inspiring stories of women who have truly changed the world or at least their part of it.

One is my friend Sarah whom I was fortunate enough to work alongside when we were both Trustees of Alzheimer’s Society. Away from her voluntary work, Sarah cracked more than her fair share of glass ceilings in a stellar professional career – the first non-marine MD of a Lloyds broking firm, Head of Arts and Culture for London 2012, CEO of The Design Council. An unpaid carer herself, she was an unwavering voice for people affected by dementia. She taught me a lot about how to challenge firmly but with kindness and support. Sadly, as she contemplated retirement, Sarah was struck down by pulmonary fibrosis which, after an unsuccessful lung transplant, claimed one of the most vivid people I have ever known last December. We will be celebrating her life at a service in London next week. She was much in my thoughts yesterday.

On International Women’s Day, we reflect on the achievements of people like Sarah but also all the women who made and make a real difference to those around them but whose contribution often goes unrecognised. Mothers, volunteers, carers. According to the 2021 census, 60% of “informal care” – i.e. unpaid, behind closed doors – is provided by women. I have several friends who are doing this now for loved ones with dementia, alongside full time jobs. I couldn’t admire them more.

About duncancajones

I am a coach and mentor, a charity trustee and a journalist. Thanks for taking the time to visit my blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment