When You’re Alone and Life is Making You Lonely…

…You can always go to a dementia-friendly Memory Cafe.

Regular readers of this blog will know how important music is in my life, and one of the songs which struck an early chord with me was Petula Clark’s Downtown. In my teenage years, my love of that song didn’t put me high in the cool chart and maybe I didn’t advertise it too much but to be honest, I didn’t care. I loved it then and still love it now. Years later, by the way, I went to see Petula Clark singing it live at the Royal Spa Centre in Leamington. Another happy musical memory as well as a rare example of being the youngest member of a concert audience.

But why am I wandering along those downtown streets of yesteryear here, you might well ask? Well, a few days ago, I found myself singing the familiar lines about forgetting troubles and cares at a Memory Cafe, run by the Grand Theatre in Wolverhampton. It’s an award-winning Memory Cafe to be precise with people living with dementia and their carers singing, dancing, smiling and laughing.

As I experienced with Mum so often, music provides a connection which, in the cruel world of dementia, often proves elusive.

I found myself picturing Mum in the room with me, particularly as Julie – one of the two singers – turned to Che Sera Sera, a staple of my setlist with Mum.

There’s a poignancy to songs like Fings Ain’t What They Used To Be but the smiles around the room were infectious. Even I was persuaded to dance – almost strong-armed into it, you might say – and that doesn’t happen very often.

One of the regulars has described attending the cafe as “a lifeline” and “…like being given a great big hug… .” And we all need one of those from time to time, don’t we?

About duncancajones

I am a coach and mentor, a charity trustee and a journalist. Thanks for taking the time to visit my blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment