The Language of Dementia

I was talking on the ‘phone yesterday about dementia yesterday. Nothing unusual in that. I can barely remember a day on which I haven’t talked to someone about dementia at some point. And, when I talk to someone whose life is touched by dementia, there’s a familiar refrain:

“You know what it’s like.”

Yes, I do. We’re members of a club. It’s a club with a hefty joining fee and morale-sapping regular subscription. Ask us to describe it and sometimes we’re stuck for words.  All of our experiences, as members of the club, are individual but we all “know what it’s like.”

So, what is it like? What words can we find to describe it? Sometimes, it’s unutterably sad. Recently, Mum has started crying out for her mother. It tends to happen when she’s taken by surprise, such as when Mandy washes her hair. The first time it happened I was with her. The sound of Mum wailing, lost and scared, made me want to do the same. Heartbreaking doesn’t do it justice.

Mum’s failing command of language is another sign that dementia’s grip is ever tighter. Yesterday, as we sat, Mum started talking but none of the words were ones I recognised. It was a collection of random sounds. It’s a language of dementia, a language only known to Mum. Laugh or cry? The choice is yours.

And yet, among the moments of chest-tightening misery, come moments of pure joy. Moments when Mum and I do the actions to The Unicorn or The Windmill in Old Amsterdam. Her chimpanzee is a thing of great beauty. Moments when we look at photos. I took this one of Mum as we sat together yesterday:

IMG_4701.jpg

When I showed it to her, she threw back her head and laughed.

“What a lovely little bloke.”

My lovely Mum, the lovely little bloke. That’s a language I can share, even if I can’t understand where it comes from. What can you do but smile?

 

About duncancajones

I am a coach and mentor, a charity trustee and a journalist. Thanks for taking the time to visit my blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Language of Dementia

  1. Sue Davies says:

    Dear Duncan
    My Mum and I have just read your heart -rending blog about your Mum. You have described your and her pain so lucidly and emotively. Sending you all our thoughts and love Sue xx

  2. Thanks Sue. She’s in a good place (the care home) so we have a lot to be thankful for. Please send my love to your Mum and Dad. xx

Leave a comment