I Saw a Mouse. Where?

Music has always played a huge part in my life. When I was small, there always seemed to be music in the house, whether it was Mum’s dawn-to-dusk consuming of BBC Radio 2 or Dad’s magna voce repertoire of the Methodist hymn book. There was nothing sotto voce about Dad when he sang.

My first transistor radio – a present at the age of 4 or 5 – was quite simply the best gift I had ever received. It allowed me to listen to Tony Blackburn’s Radio 1 Breakfast Show, with special guest appearances by Arnold, football commentaries, an emerging passion, and especially Ed “Stewpot” Stewart’s Junior Choice. I knew all the songs off by heart. I was a close personal friend of Terry Scott’s Bruva, of Sparky the Magic Piano and I always hankered after a visit to Old Amsterdam to visit a mouse-populated windmill.

Stick with me please!

Wind the clock forward and I’m Amsterdam-bound again. The latest addition to Mum’s songbook is Ronnie Hilton’s musical epic.

For those whose understanding of the world hasn’t been enlightened by Mr.Hilton, the song is all about a family of mice who live, guess where, in a windmill in the aforementioned Dutch capital city. The chorus goes something like:

“I saw a mouse.

Where?

There on the stairs.

Where on the stairs?

Right there.”

Mum sings along, just as she probably did in around 1968 when we listened to Stewpot. I add in some actions, with a look of genuine amazement at the “Where?” Mum loves it. And I love it too. mum

As the song goes on to say, how lucky we are. Music can still build a bridge for us when so much else is gone.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Saw a Mouse. Where?

  1. Elly says:

    I can hear that song right now…..a little mouse with clogs on…. Wonderful to have music to fill in all the emotional words we can’t yet describe. Lovely.

Leave a Reply

