Who’s in the photo?

I’ve just been watching Glen Campbell: I’ll Be Me for the second time. Among many striking moments in the film, there’s a section in which Glen Campbell is looking at family photographs and struggling to recognise himself.

Photographs are useful for connecting with someone living with dementia. I’ll often show Mum some photos when I visit. Typically, I start with a shot of her:

“Do you know who that is Mum?”

Mum

She pauses.

“No.”

“It’s you!”

She laughs and I follow suit. Not recognising herself doesn’t seem to distress Mum. I show her a photo of me.

She looks at me as though I’m stupid.

“I know who that is. That’s you!”

How does she recognise me but not herself? Who knows?

glen-campbell-poster

If you haven’t seen I’ll Be Me, I thoroughly recommend it. Sad, poignant, funny, tragic. Or dementia, as we call it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who’s in the photo?

  1. patricia says:

    When I read your ‘postings’ about your Mum……I always think your tenderness is palpable. xxx

Leave a Reply

