What Really Matters

I was working for the BBC yesterday on a story about crime. Despite some research which is due to be published shortly, there isn’t anything especially new or startling about the story and as I drove to the first location of our first piece of filming, I listened on the radio to a report about a scheme which helps people with dementia with their supermarket shopping.

“That’s a story,” I cried to no-one in the car. “That is making a difference to people’s lives.”

It proved to be a frustrating day. The first part of our filming went very well but, for reasons I wouldn’t dream of boring you with, the second part proved less enlightening. We finished filming, wet and unsure of how the finished product would come together. That’s today’s task. Fortunately, for me, I was about half-an-hour away from Mum so I seized the opportunity for an impromptu visit.

Mum was asleep when I arrived and less than gruntled about being woken. We made our way to a quiet room, though, and I told her about my day. How much, if anything, makes any sense to her I don’t know but it’s what I would have done in the past, so it made sense to do it now. We then turned to music and a few rousing choruses of Magic Moments, which never fails to raise a smile. Thank you Perry.

I’ve extended our concert repertoire in recent weeks, adding songs like The Seekers’ Morningtown Ride to our set-list. If the name of the song means little to you, the tune might, if you ever listened to Ed “Stewpot” Stewart’s Junior Choice. Ed, who sadly passed away earlier this year, was my first broadcasting hero (there have been quite a few since). Morningtown Ride was the theme tune and, as I sang /warbled yesterday, Mum picked up and repeated the refrain:

“All bound for Morningtown/Many miles away.”

She often remembers fragments of songs from her past but this was more familiar to us as an instrumental. Her joining in on an unfamiliar song brought a wide smile to my face. Little things.

I left with my customary parting words:

“I love you Mum.”

“I love you darling.”

The words didn’t come out quite like that but it was the gist of what she was saying. Suddenly, the frustrations of the day meant nothing. This, a trip to Morningtown with some magic moments and a few loving words, this is what really matters.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

