Hello, My Name Is…..

I don’t normally blog twice in one day but this morning I heard that someone I’d met via social media has passed away. Kate Granger, or @grangerkate in the world of Twitter, had lived with cancer for five years but had never let the cancer define her. When the doctor (Kate was a doctor too, by the way) who told her that her cancer had spread didn’t introduce himself to her or even look her in the eye, Kate launched the “Hello, my name is….” campaign.

The campaign struck a chord with me. It taught me the importance of finding out the names of the people with whom Mum now shares a home and I try to make sure I greet as many by name as I can when I visit. Illness, of whatever type, is a scary thing. Talking to people as individuals, by name, won’t make that disease go away but it will make living with it a little easier.

Thank you Kate. #HellomynameisDuncan

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

