Happy Birthday to me.

imageI can’t remember celebrating a birthday – and I’ve celebrated a few now – without at least speaking to Mum. So today, as I started my 53rd year on this planet, I wanted to spend part of the day with Mum. Armed with a cake, bought not made, (thank you Morrisons – other supermarkets and indeed cakes are available), I called in. Birthdays mean nothing to Mum and sadly neither did the cake. I handed her a plate several times and each time, she immediately put the plate to one side.

Still, she was cheerful. I took some photos and in this one, Mum delightedly caught sight of someone she knows. This surprised me. She normally doesn’t recognise her herself.

image

We laughed and sang today. It wasn’t like birthdays in the past but no matter.

“You are lovely,” Mum said at one point. And so is she. Lovely and on my birthday as on other days, still my Mum.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Birthday to me.

  1. Sue Davies says:

    A very Happy Birthday Duncan! Is it really 3 years since I last saw you at your 50th? this post is heart -rending but even through the fog of your Mum’s illness your true nature shone through for her. I think this is a special day indeed and you ARE indeed so lovely … Suexx

  2. Hannah says:

    My mum is the latest stages of alzheimers thank you for documenting what you’re going through. It’s truly horrific and hard to cope but it’s reassuring to know other people go through the same.

    • I’m sorry to hear about your mum Hannah. You’re not alone. So many people are going through a similar, heartbreaking experience. No two cases are the same but the emotions have so much in common. Thanks for your kind words.

Leave a Reply

