“Ow d’you know my name?”

It’s time to put my cards on the table. I have a new lady friend. I’ve told my wife and I think she accepts the situation. Sometimes, in the words of one of Mum’s favourite songs, “..you may see a stranger, across a crowded room.” Perhaps my new lady friend and I don’t enjoy some enchanted evenings together yet but the connection, as they say, is there.

It started quite innocently. I greet many of Mum’s fellow residents by name when I visit. This lady was at first quite indignant:

“‘Ow d’you know my name?”

I’ll protect her identity (we’re trying to avoid the gossips columns) but this conversation happens every week.

“Do I know you?”

“Yes, I see you every week.”

“Do you?”

I think Barbara Cartland depicted courtship in more elegant terms but you get the picture.

Miss X is known for speaking her mind, or rather her effin’ mind. Her language is colourful and occasionally, positively fruity.

Our “conversation” proceeded along familiar lines yesterday until Miss X decided to take it a step further.

“Are you spoken for?”

“I’m married but I won’t tell my wife.”

“Nor will I,” she cackled. “Well, you’ve gotta ‘ave a bit of fun.”

Mum was having her hair done throughout this charade and Miss X proceeded to walk several times behind Mum, waving at me with a mischievous wink. Mandy, Mum’s hairdresser, began to giggle. I asked Mum if she approved of my budding romance. She laughed, too, although I’m not sure she knew why.

Next time I visit Mum, I’m sure Miss X and I will have the same conversation. I’ll explain how I know her name. Perhaps she’ll start flirting again, perhaps not. But you’ve gotta ‘ave a bit of fun.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Ow d’you know my name?”

  1. Gill says:

    I had a chuckle at this!

Leave a Reply

