If you want to get ahead, get a hat.

Mum was never one for talking politics so even if circumstances were different, I doubt she’d have had much to say about the General Election when I visited her yesterday. I told her I was preparing to work through the night covering an election count but as with just about all our “conversation” these days, it appeared meaningless. I know I’ve said it before but I find it hard to sit with Mum and realise she and I have nothing to talk about. 50 years of shared history and nothing to talk about – so cruel.

So how did we pass the time yesterday? My increasing concerns about the future of social care if one particular party won overall control last night*? No. Memories of past elections with my father holding forth on the implications for the country of the result? Of course not.

No, we talked about a hat, and not the one a former eminent politician is now going to have to eat. There was a hat on the table which I took it upon myself to try on.

“Oh stop it. I don’t think it does anything for you,” she laughed, almost guffawed.

These days, Mum’s laughter is one of the sweetest sounds in my life and I played for it shamelessly yesterday. Whenever there was a silence, I put on the hat. Cue peals of laughter. It’s like playing with a baby. A baby who’ll never grow up.

Mum and the hat

*By the way, I’m increasingly concerned.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If you want to get ahead, get a hat.

  1. Nick Bagge says:

    Yes, sadly the one party that had anything to say about social care will be lucky to be heard above the popping of Champagne corks

Leave a Reply

