Happy Mothering, Caring Sunday

Mum

My sister and I always enjoyed making a fuss of Mum on Mother’s Day although I seem to remember she still cooked the Sunday roast so it was a measured fuss at best. We always marked the day with a present and cards which proclaimed that, whatever anyone was boasting, our Mum was indeed the best in the world.

I won’t be with Mum this Mothering Sunday and sadly she won’t have a card from me until at least tomorrow. There’s something rather ironic about me taking the card to her when I popped in on Friday and forgetting to take it out of the car.

I’ve written before about how I much I owe Mum. How her love, her support and her encouragement have guided me throughout my life. I hope she doesn’t need a card and present to reinforce that, though she’ll have both…eventually. And I don’t need one day out of 365 to reflect on it.

Today, I’ll be raising a glass not only to Mum but to her “mums”, the carers who demonstrate so many motherly qualities as they look after Mum and the others who live at the home.

Come to think of it. Why don’t we have a Caring Sunday, a Carers’ Day? I’ll start the campaign.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Mothering, Caring Sunday

  1. dementedgirl says:

    And everyone who is a carer gets the day off that day!

Leave a Reply

