Does the government really understand care at all?

I’ve never before used my blog solely to publicise what someone else has written but I’m prompted to do so  today. Everyone – not just whose with caring responsibilities – should read Ming Ho’s response to the comments of the Rt. Hon. Simon Hughes MP about care. 

As a student journalist, back in the mists of time, I interviewed Simon Hughes at his home in London. He wasn’t in when I arrived and his mother made me a cup of tea and chatted to me until he returned. I recall warming to both mother and son and being impressed by how down to earth the future Minister of State for Justice and Civil Liberties appeared to be. And so I, like so many others, was rather perplexed by what he had to say about care to The Daily Telegraph this week. There’s a link to the article in Ming’s blog so you can read it for yourself. His comments make me ask one question – does this government, indeed do politicians in general, really understand the concept of care, and I mean really understand it? If Mr Hughes’s assertions reflect the prevailing view at Westminster, we’re all in big trouble.

So, please, take a few minutes to read what Ming Ho has to say. If you’re not caring for someone now, you might well be in the future. 

http://dementiajustaintsexy.blogspot.co.uk/2014/04/lets-get-real.html?spref=tw

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

