All the World’s a Stage

In her younger days, Mum was something of a performer with the West Bromwich Operatic Society. Never a leading lady, she was content with small roles and a place in the chorus. Latterly, she became a vice president of the society, a position which I now share with her. Her father was a founder member of the society which was formed by pupils of the town’s grammar school. Incidentally, while at school, my grandfather reputedly refused to cast a fellow pupil in a school production, claiming she couldn’t act. A certain Alfred Hitchcock later disagreed with my grandfather, casting a then relatively unknown Madeleine Carroll in his 1935 film, “The 39 Steps”. My grandfather, a man of definite views, never changed his opinion.

But I digress. Mum joined “The Operatic” as a member of the chorus and played small parts in productions in the 1950s and 1960s. I can vaguely remember hearing her singing in her bedroom, learning songs for a forthcoming production. Mostly, though, Mum’s roles were off-stage and I know that more than 50 years of involvement in the West Brpm gave her huge amounts of pleasure.

But, I hear you ask, what has this little trip down memory lane to do with Mum today? If I mention WBOS to Mum, there’s a flicker of recognition but no more. Like so much of her past, it’s as if Mum recognises the name but doesn’t know why. Today, though, Mum is a leading lady, in her own production. I was reminded of this yesterday when I popped in to see her. As I told her about a recent holiday, my job prospects and family news, she nodded at the right points, giving a bravura performance of interest. To a casual observer, Mum would have appeared engaged by what I was telling her but I’m sure it meant little or nothing to her. What does still have meaning, I think, is my fleeting presence which is a comfort. Consummate actress though she is, Mum is a director’s nightmare. For the second or third visit running, I needed to talk to one of the staff. “Stay there for a moment, Mum, I just need to talk to……”. My back was turned for less than a couple of minutes but needless to say, she’d gone when I returned. The redoubtable Kath Hoggins, who directed the West Brom’s performances of my youth, would have stamped her feet in frustration.

I had to smile at Mum’s premature exit from our scene together but for me, this drama with Mum as the leading lady, is no comedy.  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

